How to change permission level in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra


This article explains how to change Collaborate Ultra privileges during a live session

By default staff members who have lecturer, tutor, assistant or full access to the Blackboard site will be automatically given moderator access

  • Moderator:  Full Control
  • Presenter: Able to upload and share content but not change settings.
  • Participant:  Default student access.


Step 1:  Once inside your Collaborate Ultra sessions, from the bottom right corner, click on the purple icon to expand the Collaborate Panel


Step 2: From the bottom right corner, click on the Attendees icon 


Step 3: Next to the participants name, click the Attendee Controls icon


Step 4: Select Make Moderator or Make Presenter


Step 5: Permission levels have been changed.